Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Montana Actually by Fiona Lowe {Book Review}


Montana Actually (Medicine River #1)
by Fiona Lowe


A big-city doctor in a small-town Montana practice....A former nurse who has sworn off doctors forever....The scene is set for passions to ignite in Big Sky Country. For readers of Robyn Carr and Sherryl Woods.

City doctor Josh Stanton and his sports car don’t suit the country, but with his medical school debt about to bury him, Josh has to make the best out of a bad situation. Adjusting to his new job and life in the middle of nowhere isn’t easy, but at least the views of the mountains—and one distractingly attractive local—are stunning…

After eight years away, Katrina McCade is back in Bear Paw for a break from her life, bad choices—and men. But when a broad-shouldered stranger bursts into town, she finds herself unexpectedly saddled with the town’s sexy new doctor as a tenant. Katrina doesn’t need a man to make her happy, especially a disgruntled physician. But try telling her body that…



It took me a while to really get into this book, and unfortunately in the end it was just an okay read. I think what really threw me off was the fact that there were two stories in the book.

We have Josh and Katrina, the main characters, but we also have several parts in Beau's (Katrina's brother) and Shannon's (her boss) POV. I actually enjoyed the side romance more than the main one, but I hated that as soon as I finally got into Josh and Katrina's story it would switch to Beau and Shannon. If the author wanted them to have a story I feel as if maybe she should have given them a novella so as not to take the focus off of the main characters.

So like I said, we have Josh and Katrina as the main focus. Josh is new to the small town and while it's what he signed on for, he isn't exactly happy with the way things are working out. Katrina recently moved back home after falling for the wrong guy. Both are wary of a relationship and rather than admit they like each other they spend a large part of the book telling themselves they can't stand the other.

Of course eventually the sexual tension gets to them and they agree to no-strings. It's not that I don't enjoy a no-strings relationship, but with both of them so wary from recent relationships, I felt that maybe it should have been handled differently. Maybe form a friendship, then sleep together... I dunno something just didn't quite work for me there.

Or maybe it was the fact that Josh was constantly comparing her to his ex. He was so hung up on her, which is totally understandable considering they broke up the day he moved out there, but it just made it really hard to focus on any developing feelings for Katrina. Not that she was any better, always fretting over the fact that he was a doctor since her previous relationship with a doctor was such a disaster.

We all know how a no strings relationship plays out right?! One, or both, of them usually gets hurt. Well I honestly think the inevitable break up was my favorite part. I know that sounds horrible but it wasn't the break up exactly, rather the fact that it really shows Katrina's growth throughout the book. And Josh's grovel at the end wasn't too bad either!

Overall it was a decent start to a series and I'll probably check out Truly Madly Montana, the next book in the series, when it comes out.




Disclosure: I was provided with a copy of Montana Actually in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by Life With Two Boys! Comments are always appreciated :)