Wednesday, June 10, 2015

After Midnight & Cries in the Night by Kathy Clark {Book Blast & Giveaway}


After Midnight (Denver Heroes #1)
by Kathy Clark


Perfect for fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards, Kathy Clark’s suspenseful, seductive Denver Heroes series kicks off as a dedicated cop and a beautiful actress get wrapped up in a world of danger and desire.

Aside from the reporter riding along in the passenger seat of his cruiser, it’s a typical Saturday night on the job for Sam Morgan of the Denver Police Department. Then shots ring out, and a routine stop involving a pimp and a hooker spirals into senseless violence. Now Sam is lying in a hospital bed, haunted by fleeting memories of the stunning blonde who saved his life—and then just disappeared.

Kate McKinney was hired to play a prostitute on a reality-TV show, not stand around as actual bullets start flying. Unable to shake the feeling that trouble is stalking her, Kate turns to the only man she can trust: the wounded cop whose blue eyes send chills through her body. He doesn’t believe she was just playing a role, but the predator hiding in the shadows is all too real—and, as Sam and Kate edge closer to the truth, so is the heat that ignites between them.




I love books that start off by throwing you right into the action and After Midnight did not disappoint in that regard. That being said, the whole book just fell a little flat for me.

Sam is a Denver police officer that loves patrolling the streets at night. He's out doing his nightly rounds when his ride-along points out a hooker and suggests they stop. What should have been a quick, routine stop turns into a lot more than anyone bargained for, leaving two people dead and Sam in the hospital.

Kate is an actress in Denver that's supposed to be playing the role of a hooker for an easy $100 cash. Except when bullets start flying and her "pimp" and a cop end up dead, she's not sure what she's supposed to do. Wracked with more guilt than she can handle, she visits Sam in the hospital but leaves when he doesn't believe her that she's not a real hooker.

Eventually Sam finds out who Kate really is and after they get past the initial hooker awkwardness they end up in a tentative relationship which quickly escalates when they realize that Kate's in danger. There's a lot that happens to Kate in such a short amount of time but Sam remains her rock throughout it all.

Of course their relationship is questionable because of everything that's been happening and neither is sure where it will lead once the danger dies down but there is one chapter where Sam's ex shows up out of nowhere and I really could have done without that. I mean, she was there which had Kate questioning how Sam really felt, then it wasn't brought up again... I just didn't understand the significance and that really bugged me.

Then, of course, we have the villain who was so obvious to me that it was a little disappointing. I had him pegged from the get-go, yet it took Sam, who's a cop, an entire book to put two and two together. I know, I know, there wouldn't have been a story if he figured it out right away but I really wish it wasn't so obvious. A little suspense would have been nice, ya know?!

While the suspense was lacking, the action in this one definitely wasn't which is the reason I was able to give it three stars. Even though I knew who the villain was, it was interesting to see how it would all play out in the end. Overall, After Midnight was a decent read and I might pick up the next book in the series.






Cries in the Night (Denver Heroes #2)
by Kathy Clark


Fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards will love this pulse-pounding novel of romantic suspense, as a red-hot firefighter reaches out to save a courageous beauty from the terrors of the night.

As a victim’s advocate for the Denver Police Department, Julie Lawrence is always on call for survivors of abuse, fighting for the justice she never got for herself. It’s a high-risk job that makes a lot of enemies—one of whom seems to be now targeting Julie. But teaming up with firefighter and local hero Rusty Wilson sparks a different kind of danger. As Julie surrenders to intoxicating passion, she finds herself breaking her own rules, caring about Rusty in a way she thought she’d sworn off forever.

When a domestic incident escalates into a deadly hostage crisis, Rusty is willing to risk everything to protect those who really need his help—like Julie, the breath of fresh air who fills his days with purpose and his nights with pleasure. He just hopes he’s not too late to stop a chillingly orchestrated act of payback that puts the woman he loves at the mercy of a madman’s rage.





Kathy Clark is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels have sold more than three million copies in eleven languages. Her plot lines have always championed women’s empowerment, placing strong female characters in real-life situations. Her stories will make you laugh and cry, and her characters will live in your heart forever. She lives with her husband and co-author, Bob Wernly.

Connect with Kathy Clark


Disclosure: I was provided with an ARC of After Midnight in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

2 comments:

Tasty Book Tours said...

Thank you for hosting AFTER MIDNIGHT and CRIES IN THE NIGHT

Carol L. said...

I do have this on my TRL. But don't enter me as I don't & can't read e- books. Thanks for the post.
Carol L
Lucky4750 (at ) aol (dot) com

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by Life With Two Boys! Comments are always appreciated :)